SATA or AHCI

Discussion in 'BIOS Optimization Guide (BOG)' started by dudleian, Feb 25, 2012.

1. dudleian

dudleian Newbie

I'm trying to install 2 old IDE devices into a Packard Bell imedia desktop (Vista OS) using IDE/SATA converters plugging into two spare SATA ports on the MOBO (MCP73VT-PM1.0 with PDV10.P18 BIOS version) One device is a formatted HDD and the other's a disk drive.. The BIOS doesn't recognise these and I'm wondering if there's a compatibility issue - should I change the SATA mode in the 'integrated peripherals'? It's currently in AHCI mode and shows ports 1 and 3 'not detected'
    What's the likely outcome if I just go ahead and change it, am I likely to frizz my O.S. or can I chop and change these settings at will?
    As you can tell I'm not a techie - more of a 'have a go' silver surfer!
    Thanks

2. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

I believe there's an IDE option for that SATA mode. Did you try that?

3. dudleian

dudleian Newbie

Hi - there's no IDE option, just SATA/AHCI/RAID

4. Chai

Try the SATA, that shoudl be equivalent to the IDE mode.

5. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

You can try SATA, but if I'm not mistaken, that will cause Windows Vista to stop booting up because you had earlier set the SATA mode to AHCI. Once you install Windows in AHCI mode, you cannot switch back to SATA mode. If that happens, switch back to AHCI.

If your motherboard has an external SATA controller, e.g. from HighPoint, then you can hook up the IDE drives to them. Alternatively, if you are just looking to copy out data from those two old HDDs, you might want to buy (or borrow) an IDE-to-USB dock or converter, or the rather common 3.5" USB enclosures.

6. dudleian

dudleian Newbie

Hi Adrian