Definitive Battery Extender Guide Rev. 2.10

Discussion in 'Reviews & Articles' started by Adrian Wong, Dec 29, 2002.

1. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

"Heard of a battery extender? We will show you how to create one for peanuts! And if you are looking for even more juice, go no further! We will show you how to create a cheap 6V, 4500mAh battery extender!"

Please feel free to comment on the guide or post your questions here!

2. Benjamin

Benjamin Newbie

Battery Extender for HP Jornada 928

Dear Adrian,

I am a HP Jornada 928 user, and was so frustrated with the battery life that I started thinking of the extender.

I remember I used to builded my first extender for my walkman as a teenager using a bicycle torchlight holder.

Alas, that was because I have no knowledge of ampere and simply extending the battery life from a AA battery to a A battery.

Your webpage is really useful and has given me the zest to want to give it a try.

Just a quick question about the Ampere-hour rating.

The adaptor to the PDA reads 5V 1.7A.

I know that I can put 3 AA batteries in series to get 4.5V, but one thing that puzzles me is will a higher ampere reading “burn” anything?
    e.g. a alkaline battery has a 2A reading, though in series, the ampere will still be 2A

While waiting for your reply, I did some calculation and toying with my multi-meter. And decided to go ahead with cutting the adaptor up for the plug in. I shopped for a 3 batteries torchlight that cost A$3.50. (errr sorry I don't know how to attach picture here, will send you by email)

Now, I have the following question:
    1) the charger light on the PDA start blinking when I turn it ON, but indicate charging when it is OFF
    2) When the indicator shows that it is fully charged "Blue light", it is not actually fully charged