Asus Mobos Comparison

Discussion in 'Processors, Motherboards & Memory' started by chingster, Aug 25, 2008.

1. chingster

chingster Newbie

Hi, I am a first-time builder and just wanted to know how the Asus P5Q compares to the P5N. Are they more or less the same boards, its just that one supports ATI Crossfire and the other supports Nvidia SLI?

I am planning on installing a single geforce 9800GTX+ OC card on the mobo. Would the card work in the P5Q or do i have to go for an nvidia chipset?

Are nvidia chipsets really that bad compared to intel chipsets?
    What are the improved technology changes between the 650i,680i and 750i?

Thanks, much appreciated

2. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

Definitely get the Intel board. It's not that nvidia chipset is bad, it's just that Intel chipset are very refined. No known issues, very stable, overclockable, fast.

I'm using P35 chipset based motherboard, it is very stable. If you are not planning to run mutil card, any Intel board will do.

3. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

If you only intend to use a single graphics card, the choice is obvious - Intel chipset FTW! :thumb:

As hard as NVIDIA is trying, Intel's chipset development team has decades of experience and this experience shows in the quality of their chipset and drivers. :thumb:

Incidentally, Intel has chosen to support ATI CrossFire so all Intel 4-Series motherboard will support ATI CrossFire. Even the future X58 chipset will support ATI CrossFire.

4. Lacus

Lacus Newbie

yes, intel chipsets ftw :p the card you getting will work on all the mobo (no matter Intel or Nvidia chipset) as long you're running it in single card. for dual setup, 1 must either get an Intel chipset (ATI[Crossfire/Xfire]) or nvidia chipset (nvidia[SLI])

5. generalRage1982hrv

generalRage1982hrv ARP Reviewer

well about mbos there is a way to run sli on some intel chips(asus mbos)
    by flashing bios

6. chingster

chingster Newbie