Awesome Memory

Discussion in 'Processors, Motherboards & Memory' started by CPFitz14, Dec 1, 2002.

1. CPFitz14

CPFitz14 Newbie

Just letting you guys know about PNY memory. First of all, its cheap, which is always a plus. I got 256mb of pc2100 for $50 a while back. Second of all, it's easy to get. You can find it at almost any local computer store, Staples, CompUSA, BestBuy, etc. Best of all, is that a lot of the time, they use samsung chips, such as the one that I got:D This memory is running at an FSB of 219, or DDR438!! Here's a sandra benchie

[​IMG]

-CPFitz-

2. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

Wow! That's a great memory score! And with a PC2100, incredible. :shock:

3. elton

elton WhAtSuPdOc

Cool man a high score @@!!

4. calvinator

calvinator Newbie

hi...newbie here :)

i got 256mb mushkin pc2700 ram, set to 2-2-2-1, but i only get like 2065++ for both the int and float figures in sandra. i reckon this is pretty low, even when i compared it with the sandra reference results. and after seeing your scores here ,cpfitz, i was totally floored :)

any ideas why my score is so low? fyi, my system is athlon xp 1800+, abit kd7 non-raid, and nothing is overclocked (still newbie mah).

5. peaz

peaz ARP Webmaster Staff Member

The scores also depends a lot on what Chipset you are using and for VIA's case, what 4in1 drivers you are using... :D these faactors do make a lot of differences in terms of memory speeds.

6. Chai

The reason why your memory score isn't much higher is due to the processor limitation.

Your AMD processor runs at 133MHz, with DDR, just like your memory. No matter how fast your memory is, but if your processor is stuck at 266MHz (DDR), your maximum memory bandwidth the processor utilizes is still at 266MHz DDR. Unless if you overclock your FSB, forcing your processor to run higher than 266MHz, then your memory bandwidth requirement will increase.