Macro Lens?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Ishtim, Dec 12, 2013.

1. Ishtim

Ishtim Super Moderator

What is good macro lens to start with for Canon 7D?

I've always wanted one, but not sure where to start... :think:

2. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

Do you want Canon lens or 3rd party? Our resident Canonite should know best. :mrgreen:

3. Ishtim

Ishtim Super Moderator

No need to have a red stripe on my lenses, but I thinks its more about "bank for the buck" especially since I am a self proclaimed novice. I really don't know much about macro s lets just say "anything goes" for now but keep it mainstream, e.g. I don't want to sell my car to by more glass. :wicked: Also curious about the min focus distance and why I shouldn't use my 70-2mm f2.8 to do macro.. seems to be a big topic with macro shooters
    :think:

4. atwl77

atwl77 Just Started

The 100L is great, it may have a red ring but doesn't break the bank at all. It's great for both portraits and macro; the stabilizer is very useful in times when you're wandering around the garden without a tripod.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

5. atwl77

atwl77 Just Started

You mean 70-200?

There are two important things that differentiate macro lenses from normal ones.

1) magnification, or reproduction ratio. Macro lenses can fill the frame with smaller items than conventional lenses. It's a combination of minimum focusing distance and focal length that allows this; long telephoto lenses like the 70-200 aren't really optimized for close-up shots, you only get 1.4m distance which doesn't help at all.

2) performance that is optimized for close distances and flat field of focus. Any decent macro lens worth its salt is already very sharp wide open, and gets very, very sharp when stopped down. The flat field of focus is also something worth taking note of, a lot of lenses actually have a bit of curvature (some not so bad, some very bad like the EF 20mm f/2.8).

6. Chai