Monitor!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards & Displays' started by zy, Jul 21, 2011.

1. zy

zy zynine.com Staff Member

Any suggestion on monitor?

I'm a noob when it comes to it.

Main purpose:
    - Photo editing
    - Some games

What should I look out for when it comes to choosing a monitor?

2. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

What is your budget? Screen size?

Now there's 2 common types of screen, IPS or TN panels.

3. Falcone

Falcone Official Mascot Creator

Get a Mac :haha: :haha: :haha: :haha:

4. Chai

I think he will sell a Mac even if he was given a Mac product for free! :haha:

5. jay cee

jay cee Newbie

well earlier in the year I got this, and am quite happy with it. I thought the colors were off when I first started using it but I realize now the Dell was just really bad at color reproduction. I got mine at newegg.

http://forums.techarp.com/graphics-cards-displays/26266-new-monitor-just-arrived.html

Newegg.com - ASUS VH242H Black 23.6" 5ms HDMI Full 1080P Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 1000:1 (ASCR 20000:1) Built in Speakers

they make a slightly larger one for $10 more
    Newegg.com - ASUS VW246H Glossy Black 24" 2ms(GTG) HDMI Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 ASCR 20000:1 (1000:1) Built-in Speakers

and a pro model for the graphic artists
    Newegg.com - ASUS ProArt Series PA246Q Black 24.1" 6ms P-IPS Height/Swivel/Pivot Adjustable LCD Monitor w/2 USB hub, Card Reader & Display port 400cd/m2 50000:1 DCR

In general(from the web)
    TN = Twisted Nematic - These are 6-bit screens that cannot really reproduce 16.7 million colors. They can only reproduce 262,144 colors; 64 shades of Red, Green & Blue. Thats (2^6)^3 or 64^3. All the other colors are created through a process called dithering. These typically have fast response times (for gaming) at the expense of color accuracy. These are inexpensive monitors.

MVA = Multidomain Vertical Alignment
    PVA = Patterned-ITO Vertical Alignment