Total Newb Needs Advice!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards & Displays' started by 12gViolet, Mar 24, 2009.

1. 12gViolet

12gViolet Newbie

I have never, in my entire life, done anything with a graphics card. (Just fair warning that you may have to explain everything as if to a two year old. Seriously, I'm totally new at this.)

That being said, recently my fiance and I have gotten heavily into the wonderful world of MMORPGs, and they are the hell on our poor computer. Even when set to the lowest possible settings we get stuttering lag when we run into a heavily occupied zone. Also, I've recently gotten into DAZ 3D Studio, which requires some halfway decent graphics itself. I can't even run it on our comp. I have to use my laptop, which came with a nice ATI Radeon card preinstalled.

My question to all of you experts is, what card do I need? I've been told the Radeon 4800 series is a good bet, but which one? I've had good luck with the card in my laptop so far, so I'd like to stick to Radeons if possible, unless something else is just so blow-me-outta-the-water that it's impossible to pass up. I NEED to stay under $300US, and preferably under $250US. The cheaper the better, as long as I can run both DAZ 3D Studio and City of Heroes (our preferred MMORPG) at full strength. I'd like to be able to sit on this card for a while, too. I don't want to have to upgrade before 2010! LOL

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

2. Trinity

Trinity Little Kiki Staff Member

Are you planning on upgrading your desktop computer?

What kind is it and what are it's spec's?

Pci, Or agp?

"8.0.1 What are the system requirements for City of Heroes?

Minimum System Specifications

Windows® 98/ME/2000/XP
    Intel Pentium® III 800 MHz or AMD Athlon 800 MHz
    256 MB RAM
    4X CD-ROM Drive
    2 GB Available HDD Space
    GeForce 2 Series or ATI Radeon 8500 Series Video Card
    DirectX 9.0
    16-bit Sound Card
    56k modem
    Keyboard and mouse