C2D Overclocking All-In-1 Thread

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Cooling & Modding' started by Dashken, Apr 24, 2007.

1. Dashken

Dashken Administrator!

Yeah... get a C2D processor and start overclocking. Any insights to share with this noob here? :think:

2. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

E6600? LICH!

P5B-E plus? Wrong mobo combination... :haha: I have a tough time overclocking E6600 on P5B-E Plus. Highest I could do was 350MHz FSB. Cooling is a mojor issue for C2D.

3. Dashken

Dashken Administrator!

Let's try if I could get more than that. :mrgreen:

But with cheap RAMs though. :(

Edit: But with those cheap RAMs, I don't think I can go far. even a 2.80Ghz, I would be damn happy adi. :haha: Now, have to kautim the audio driver problem 1st. :wall: The last I checked, the CPU is hovering at 45-ish idle. Damn...

Last edited: Apr 24, 2007
  4. Chai

You shuold care about the load temp.

5. Dashken

Dashken Administrator!

I meant idle also quite high already, load maybe much higher. My AMD64 is only around 40-ish... :faint:

6. Chai

Hard to say. The C2d I overclocked reached 80+C regularly. Hehe. I don't have a better cooler.

7. Max_87

Max_87 huehuehue

You can't really compare C2D with single core A64. C2D is so much hotter :mrgreen:

I personally don't care much about the load temperature unless it's unstable :haha:

8. ZuePhok

ZuePhok Just Started

the thing Im more worried is the VRM temp.

I got myself a C2Q6700 (ES) @ a dirt cheap price.
    when I oc, it's not the CPU temp that worries me, but the VRM's. these things get so hot, they burn your finger. imagine if you run it 24/7 for a year :faint:
    4-phase can hardly make it for long term overclocking. so far, DQ6 seems to have the best VRM design. 6-phase, each with a 2 high 2 low mosfet with 2 inductors design. XBX2 is great as well with a 5-phase 2high2low Mosfet. but XBX2 is so expensive, close to a K :(

settled for P5B deluxe. 333x10=3.3GHz. Still extremely hot! :(