What PSU wattage is sufficient?

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Cooling & Modding' started by chingster, Aug 24, 2008.

1. chingster

chingster Newbie

Hi, I am a first time computer builder and just wanted to know how much wattage I would need for my rig and which brands are reliable (and that preferably run on 1 or 2 rails). My friend recommended a 750W PC Power & Cooling psu for $165@Tigerdirect.

My setup will be as follows:

Intel core 2 extreme QX6850 3ghz quad core processor (I won it at work =p, the retail is a grand but sells online for only 300-500 so i figured I could just use it)
    ASUS P5Q intel P45 mobo

EVGA 9800GTX+ superclocked (PCI-E 2.0) - 770mhz core, uses less wattage than regular 9800gtx apparently

RAM- 2 x 2gb DDR2..unsure of which brand and speed (800,1066,1333) to purchase. will heatsink be necessary for this setup?

WD Caviar 500gb HDD
    LG dvd-drive
    Antec Nine Hundred Case
    Samsung 245BW Display

I was looking at PC&P 610W version psu that is much cheaper but i am unsure if it will be enuff sustain the machine.

Also on the side I was comparing the BFG 9800GTX+ OC to the EVGA one. The BFG one is 30 dollars cheaper, however it supports regular PCI-E rather than EVGA's PCI-E 2.0. Is there a major difference between PCI-E versions? I havent opened anything yet, so I can always exchange cards or any part for that matter.

Thanks

Last edited: Aug 24, 2008
  2. Max_87

Max_87 huehuehue

The PCP&C 610W is enough.

3. Unixlord

Unixlord Newbie

Both 750w and 610w silencer's are fantastic power supplies. They're both more than adequate for that setup.
    Both cards are PCIE 2.0, not like it makes a difference. They're both good so you might as well save $30 and get the BFG.
    For RAM go GSKILL 8000 or 6400 kits (whichever fits your budget).

4. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

I thought all G92 cards should be PCI-E 2.0?

And why not consider 4850 or 4870 instead?

5. chingster

chingster Newbie