overclocking intel core 2 duo e6850 3.0ghz

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Cooling & Modding' started by coolwhip, Feb 24, 2009.

1. coolwhip

coolwhip Newbie

I am new to overclocking and read about it for a while. Havent done any of it yet but read articles upon articles..
    I dled the cpu-z program and in it it was jumping around tell me my cpu multiplier was at 6 and i was running at 2 ghz than at 9 and running at 3 ghz... i ran the nvidia monitor and it said i was running at 3ghz... anyways besides that little mix up i wanted to try to overclock my cpu... i have the e6850 on a evga nforce 680i sli motherboard with 4 gigs of ocz ddr2 ram at 400 mhz... any suggestions for a beginner?? my first opinion was that i can adjust the multiplier to x10 and get 3.3ghz out of it, anyway i am currently reading the article on this forum about overclocking as well...

2. zy

zy zynine.com Staff Member

as far as i know, you can't increase the multiplier since its locked at 9 max. unless i'm wrong. you need to increase the FSB.

3. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

Yes, unless you have an unlocked Intel Core 2 processor (e.g. Extreme Edition), you must overclock the FSB to overclock the processor.

The multiplier is locked for all Core 2 processor, including most engineering samples. Only "some" engineering sample and Extreme Editions of the Intel Core 2 processor have unlocked multipliers.

When overclocking, be sure to take it step by step. Overclock in small steps. Don't be overly ambitious. :)

4. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

FSB is the only way to overclock. You should be able to reach 380MHz without voltage bump.

5. coolwhip

coolwhip Newbie