What's the best WiFi-N router to get today?

Discussion in 'Internet & Networking' started by Adrian Wong, Dec 29, 2010.

1. mikegas

mikegas Newbie

Hey I am not a network expert. How do you do the Vlan tagging etc?

i did not see any special setup in the router page ..

2. karhoe

karhoe Newbie

I think Chai mentioned somewhere before only certain routers support it

3. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

4. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

Sorry, but why do you need VLAN tagging? :think:

Doesn't the Unifi modem support it already?

5. Chai

Only if you can stand how bad the router is, that is.

6. Adrian Wong

BTW, I'm not sure if I got anything wrong but I tried transferring files from the laptop to the new WD TV Live Hub using 40 MHz WiFi-N and Gigabit LAN and obtained truly pathetic results :

I wonder... is this kind of bandwidth expected of all routers, or did I make any mistake in the setup?

7. mikegas

mikegas Newbie

damn . . reading the unifi stuff is scary, there was one time the management tab left enable on the router. The next thing I know my router admin password got changed! ..

Was damn pissed. I unplug the router, did a full reset with pin, use the default password and reaccess the router. Damn smart unifi ppl ...seesh ..

Adrian: Have you tried wireless play a full HD movie, shud be ok ba.. mine was well. BTW, is your WD TV Hub review unit?!

8. Chai

I don't think a device like WD TV Live Hub is designed to run at maximum throughput.

9. Chai

I've never gotten anything remotely close to 300Mbps. That's why I never recommend you to get one. It's nice to "have" it, but in reality, it's not that much better than a good G router.

10. Adrian Wong

Will be trying that soon. Been testing the other aspects of the Live Hub. Was also retesting the WD TV Live with the new firmware.