1st Time Building Computer Please Help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Frederick Holt, Jul 1, 2011.

1. Hi All,

I'm new to building my own computer so please give me any suggestions that you may have.

I am trying to build a decent desktop mainly for running 3D CAD software and also intensive MATLAB algorithms. I'm trying to keep the price point right around $1000 - $1300. Please let me know what you think.

2 Main questions:
    1) Am I missing anything that I am going to need
    2) Any recommendations?

I know that a Quadro Card would give me better performance for the CAD software, but the Price is just too high for those cards. I'm open to any suggestions that would allow for better performance though. ( I was initially going to softmod the GPU but I understand that NVIDIA has patched that process )

This is my current NewEgg Cart:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2375037/Newegg_Cart.pdf

Thank you in advance for your help

Last edited: Jul 1, 2011
  2. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

Why do you get the GTX470? It's an old generation of high end cards. Try GTX570.

Do you need monitor calibrator? I'm not sure about Pantone, Spyder3 Express is not too bad. Looks like the bundled price is quite attractive.

3. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

Couple of comments...

1. Do you actually need a DVD burner? I probably used my notebook's DVD burner less than 5 times in the last 2 years, and even then, it was only to read CDs people passed to me! :D

2. FYI, the 6 Gbps interface of the Seagate HDD won't improve its performance - the HDD isn't fast enough to even hit the 3 Gbps limit. If it's part of the combo, then it's perfectly fine. However, if you can split it out and get a 3 Gbps model, you will probably save a bit of money, or use the difference to upgrade to a 2 TB HDD.