Configurating D-Link DSL 520T with Netgear MR814v2 Wireless Router

Discussion in 'Notebooks & Mobile Devices' started by jasperchc, Sep 7, 2007.

1. jasperchc

jasperchc Newbie

I need help with configurating the d-link DSL 520T modem to work with the netgear MR814v2 wireless router. I can connect just fine now but i cant access the netgear wireless router setting, was told i need to set the D-link modem to bridge mode, but what else do i need to do to make the setting work? cause i need to set the wifi setting in the netgear router to enable my laptop to connect to the internet.

And I killed my aztech 305E modem trying to make the 2 work in this afternoon, the aztech modem cannot connect to the internet anymore and i cant access its configuration page and the reset button on the back doesnt work as its not resetting the modem.

So please help me before i kill my new modem again :pray:

2. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

Hmm.. I'm no network expert but...

1. Connect directly to the modem and set it to Bridge mode.

2. Connect to the router and configure.

3. jasperchc

jasperchc Newbie

i can set the modem to bridge mode by connecting directly, but after that what do i do? i can only access the netgear wireless router configuration page (192.168.0.1) when its not connected to the modem, when its connected to the modem, it will not work.

4. Adrian Wong

You need to set the modem to bridge mode. Disable the built-in DHCP server.

5. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

It looks like both devices are fighting for the 192.168.0.1 IP.

6. jasperchc

jasperchc Newbie

Adrain, I set the modem to bridge mode, disable dhcp. The result is cant access the router configuration page (192.168.0.1).

Chai, no they are not fighting over the default Ip, modem use 192.168.1.1, router use 192.168.0.1