CPU Usage rises to 100%

Discussion in 'Processors, Motherboards & Memory' started by fuzzy, Jun 21, 2005.

1. fuzzy

fuzzy Newbie

Guys, for some reason my PC's CPU usage keeps rising and stucked at 100% after long usage.

Even if I closed down ever program until the bare necessities, it still remains the same. But if I restarted with the same programs started, it goes back to a normal 10-20%.

Why is this happening and is there anything I can do to reverse this?

2. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

First open Task Manager and find out which process is using so much CPU time.

3. zy

zy zynine.com Staff Member

yea.. check for the program that uses that much cpu usage .. could be a spyware/virus/adware :p

4. fuzzy

fuzzy Newbie

Everything.

I'm not a newbie in this so it really has got me stumped. For example if I have:-

Firefox 80%
    Winamp 10%
    BitComet 10%

So I proceed to shutdown Firefox. Now it'll become this:-

Winamp 90%
    BitComet 10%

So I close Winamp.

BitComet 100%

I think you get my point here....Even if I close all external programs, things like Task.exe, Isass.exe, etc etc.... takes over and keeps the usage at 100%.

5. ESP

ESP Newbie

Have you scanned everything with an anti-virus and spybot?

6. fuzzy

fuzzy Newbie

Yep, with online scan, with installed anti-virus, with 2 spybot programs...

It's not a virus problem me thinks.

7. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

This is a really odd problem, I must say. :think:

8. Aion-X

Aion-X Newbie

What program are u really using?

Firefox 80%
    Winamp 10%
    BitComet 10%

is possible but

Winamp 90%
    BitComet 10%
    So I close Winamp.
    BitComet 100%

is not.