Dell 1704FPT or 1905FP?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards & Displays' started by Adrian Wong, Feb 13, 2005.

1. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

Hello everyone!

Has anyone tried out the Dell 1704FPT (17") or 1905FP (19") LCD monitors yet?

As far as I can tell, the Dell 1704FTP is using a TN-Film matrix with a fast response time of 12ms, but very narrow viewing angle (just like the BenQ Joybook 7000's LCD panel) and poor colour saturation.

The Dell 1905FP is apparently using a Samsung-made PVA matrix panel. Therefore, it has a slow response time of 25ms but a good viewing angle and moderate colour saturation.

The thing is PVA panels are supposed to be less suitable for gaming than TN-Film panels. And as you can see, it's 25ms vs. 12ms. Then again, specifications are just specifications.

So, has anyone tried them out yet? Do you get any ghosting with either panels?

2. AAY

AAY ARP Reviewer

I've been using the 1704FPT for a few months now and I"ve been pretty happy with it. Though I'm not much of a gamer, PsYkHoTiK was using my monitor most of the time during our month-long gaming session, and he didn't have many complaints :). Not having any other LCDs around (besides the tired 13.3" panel, 50ms panel on my laptop!!) to compare it with, I can't say much about color saturation, and I don't have any complaints about the viewing angle. I do regularly use older Dell panels (1703FP, 1702FP, 1701FP, 1800FP), and things don't really look better all. Admittedly, those systems are using VGA connectors instead of DVI, though.

3. Adrian Wong

Because of its TN-Film matrix, the 1704FPT "should not" show much ghosting. But it's nice to know that you guys have tested it out and found the response time to be satisfactory. :thumb:

The thing is.. both the 17" 1704FPT and the 19" 1905FP have the same resolution - 1280x1024. So, text and graphics should look much sharper on the 1704FPT. Also, the 1704FPT is significantly cheaper than the 1905FP.