OC didn't work

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Cooling & Modding' started by itld, Dec 23, 2002.

1. itld

itld Newbie

howdy,
    i haven't messed much with OC so this may be a stupid newbie question.
    i went to one of my other boxes:
    ASUS A7M
    AMD Athlon 750
    256md ram (dont know what kind)

and set the system freq up from 100 to 105.

it booted OK and id'd the proc at 800mhz win 2K came to life but as soon as i touched the mouse it went blue screen, the most interesting part is when it booted back up it errored with something like this
    when i went back to the BIOS it was back to 100

this is my first time messing with OC, is there something i missed in the BIOS? or is this setup just incapable of being OC'd??
    M.R.

2. Chai

Chai Administrator Staff Member

Is that A7M a dual processor motherboard?

Dual processor motherboard usually doesn't overclock well. But 105MHz shouldn't be a problem even if it's dual processor.

3. PY 222

PY 222 <b>DF King</b>

True that dual proc mobos don't overclock very well because they are built for stability, well atleast for Tyan boards.

I have my Tyan board cranked up to 139Mhz from 133Mhz using stock cooling. I dare not go any higher because I would rather have more stability than speed.

4. itld

itld Newbie

howdy,
    The ASUS A7M is a single proc slot A board. maybe it just isn't capable?

M.R>

5. PY 222

PY 222 <b>DF King</b>

Are you sure it is Asus A7M?

I do not think that Asus came out with a single processor A7M. It could be the A7N if I am not mistaken.

6. Chai

I'm not too familiar with AMD chipsets. It could be your RAM not able to handle higher clockspeed. If you set to agressive timings in the BIOS, try higher latency settings.

7. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

Hey itld,