Talk about cars and motoring here!

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by Adrian Wong, May 24, 2005.

1. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

Hehe.. About time for a thread about cars and motoring. Let's keep it rolling with questions and answers.

Okay, my car has 15" sports rims which, I think, make it look a lot nicer than it really is. :haha:

But I was wondering.. what are the pros and cons of larger rims vs. smaller ones? :think:

Yeah, my chat with Jeremy and Chai two weeks back got me thinking about it. :mrgreen:

2. mahakanjus

mahakanjus Newbie

my oh my those two can surely corrupt a person.

who is the master and who is the apprentice?

3. Adrian Wong

LOL!! Seriously... what are the pros and cons?

I found 15" rims to look really nice, at least on my Proton Wira... but I think they said that 15" may be pushing it? :think:

4. siddiq

siddiq Newbie

ok a noob here.

large rims looks nice. small rim looks dull :mrgreen: but small rims means more thick tyre so more comfortable compare to very thin tyres. :)

5. bizkid21

bizkid21 Newbie

wat model is ur wira? i think 15" for wira is ok, wont be affect much on the car.

having a larger rims on ur car will affect ur FC if the rims is too big for the car, and ur speed meter will affect also, ur actual speed will not b so accurate. and it also affect ur car pick up also, coz when the rims get bigger the weight also get heavier.

6. mahakanjus

mahakanjus Newbie

yup... tyres with higher sidewalls are able to absorb the bumps better than those with lower sidewalls. 15" on wiras seem to be ok to me. you'll have to live with slightly lower sidewalls and a speedo thats not accurate (not to say they were accurate to begin with anyway)

7. Adrian Wong

Hmm.. Affect the fuel consumption? How so? And what effect are we talking about? More fuel consumption or less?

Well, I think my sports rims are made from metal alloy so it should be lighter than the standard steel wheels.

8. Adrian Wong