The Maxxing Out The GeForce Fx Go5200 Guide!

Discussion in 'Reviews & Articles' started by Adrian Wong, Jan 29, 2004.

1. Adrian Wong

Adrian Wong Da Boss Staff Member

2. jonnywonder

jonnywonder Newbie

question

I've been using my satellite m35 with the nvidia GPU for a couple weeks, and I've been pretty happy with the performance so far. I'm not a huge PC gamer but I like to keep my options open. Just a question because I'm new to the world of laptops...is it possible to get a new graphics card in the future like you can swap out graphics cards in a PC? Or are you pretty much stuck with what you got? Just wondering for the future. Thanks!

-jonathan

3. Adrian Wong

Well, GPU upgrades are not possible in notebooks, not that I know of anyway. I can't even add more RAM to the Go5200 in this notebook! :doh:

But the good news is at least the Go5200 has full DirectX 9 support. Game support should not be a problem. Only speed is a problem. To that end, you can always use a lower resolution and detail level.

Please note that I used maximum texture detail and a resolution of 1024x768 in the tests.

4. peaz

peaz ARP Webmaster Staff Member

i believe you could for Dells because they've custom designed their GPUs into daughterboards. but as for other manufacturers... sad but no... it's not possible.

5. paxarchangel

paxarchangel Newbie

Problem using the RivaTuner for the Nvidia FX Go5200

Hi,

It seems that I can't change the speed of the Go5200 with my Dell Inspiron 8600 notebook. I tried to do as the article said, but when I open te RivaTuner I can't even change a thing. How can I make these manual changes if I can't even change a thing? Anyone ave any idea if I forget to do something?

Thanks in advance!!!

6. goodl

goodl Newbie

read the documentation, it can appear that way, i had to rtfm before I found out how to do it properly. It isn't a very intuitive app :roll:

7. Adrian Wong

Re: Problem using the RivaTuner for the Nvidia FX Go5200

Hello Paxarchangel,